HOME   |    PDF   |   


Incidence neurosensory deficit in mandibular fractures



Alladi Sneha*, Pradeep Dhasarathan, Hemavathy O. R Muralidoss, Murugesan Krishnan & Vedha Vivigdha 



Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Saveetha Dental College and Hospitals, Saveetha Institute of Medical and Technical Sciences,  Saveetha University, Chennai, India; *Corresponding author



Alladi Sneha - E-mail: snehaalladi.0695@gmail.com

Pradeep Dhasarathan - E-mail: pradeep.dhasa@gmail.com

Hemavathy O.R Muralidoss - E-mail: hemadocmd@gmail.com

Murugesan Krishnan - E-mail: dr.mkm70@gmail.com

Vedha Vivigdha - E-mail: vedhaaravindan1996@gmail.com


Article Type

Research Article



Received June 1, 2023; Revised June 30, 2023; Accepted June 30, 2023, Published June 30, 2023



Sensory disturbances in the inferior alveolar nerve (IAN) prior to treatment can be attributed to various factors, including the site, type of fracture, and fracture displacement. Therefore, it is of interest to assess the incidence of inferior alveolar nerve injuries associated with mandibular fractures before and after surgical treatment. Group A consisted of patients with inferior alveolar nerve paresthesia before treatment, while Group B consisted of patients with inferior alveolar nerve paresthesia after treatment. A significant difference was observed between the two groups, with a p-value of 0.031 (p < 0.05) with the overall incidence of IAN deficit was 57.33% before treatment and 61.33% after treatment. These findings highlight the importance of promptly identifying and managing IAN injuries to minimize long-term consequences.



Neurosensory deficit, Mandibular fractures, Lower Lip paraesthesia, Inferior alveolar nerve & mental nerve



Sneha et al. Bioinformation 19(6): 725-728 (2023)


Edited by

P Kangueane






Biomedical Informatics



This is an Open Access article which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly credited. This is distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.